Murphy Osborne Award Finalists Announced; Represent Highest ConfCarolinas Academic Award

High Point, NC> Eleven Conference Carolinas student-athletes have been selected as finalists for the Murphy Osborne Award. Finalists are nominated by their institutions based on academic, athletic, leadership, service and community involvement excellence during the year. The award winner is given to the conference student-athlete determined to have the most outstanding accomplishments of the year. The finalists for the highest academic award presented by the conference are as follows: Richard Worthy of Barton College, John Frisby of Belmont Abbey College, James Sweeney of Coker College, Olivia Self of Converse College, Kelsey Spurrier of Erskine College, Brooke Johnson of King College, Megan Mitchell of Lees-McRae College, Tia Williams of Limestone College, Emelie Andersson of Mount Olive College, Brittany Cox of Pfeiffer University, and Joshua Dowd of Queens University of Charlotte. 


To be eligible for the award, a student must be a senior student-athlete with a minimum grade point average of 3.25. The student must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student for at least two years at the member school, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport. The recipient is selected by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives. The Murphy Osborne award winner, selected from these finalists, will be announced March 20, 2013.


2013 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Finalist

Richard Worthy, Barton College Men’s Soccer
John Frisby, Belmont Abbey College Men’s Golf
James Sweeney, Coker College Men’s Soccer
Olivia Self, Converse College Women’s Tennis
Kelsey Spurrier, Erskine College Softball
Brooke Johnson, King College Women’s Basketball
Megan Mitchell, Lees-McRae College Women’s Volleyball
Tia Williams, Limestone College Women’s Basketball
Emelie Andersson, Mount Olive College Women’s Golf
Brittany Cox, Pfeiffer University Women’s Basketball
Joshua Dowd, Queens University of Charlotte Men’s Soccer



Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference currently made up of 12 teams from North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, King College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Queens University of Charlotte.