Belmont Abbey College Claims Early Hawn Cup Lead Following Fall Season Championships

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Belmont Abbey College has taken an early lead in the Conference Carolinas Joby Hawn Cup standings after the completion of the league's fall championships.

The Hawn Cup is awarded to the league member that shows the highest rating of excellence in conference-sponsored sports. The Hawn Cup is tallied after the fall, winter, and spring seasons and then awarded each year in honor of former Commissioner H.C. "Joby" Hawn for his many years of service to the league.

Conference Carolinas will name an overall Hawn Cup winner, as well as individual winners for men's and women's sports. Hawn Cup points are awarded in each sport based on the order of regular season finish, with bonus points going to the tournament champion (2 bonus points) and runner-up finisher (1 bonus point) in each sport.

As well as starting the year on top of the standings for the overall award, Belmont Abbey College also currently leads in the fight for the individual women's cup, tallying 28.5 points for a 0.864 rating. The Crusaders initial lead can be credited to their two championship runner-up finishes in women's volleyball and women’s cross country. North Greenville University is currently the second-place team after compiling 25.5 points and a 0.773 rating.  Limestone College sits in third place with 25 points after claiming the women's soccer championship. 

Lees-McRae currently holds the top spot in the race for the men's cup, compiling 18 points and a 0.957 rating.  The Bobcats finished as the runner-up at the cross country championship this fall.  The University of Mount Olive is just behind the leaders with 16.5 points after winning the men's cross country championship and finishing as the runner-up in men's soccer.  Trailing the Trojans, Limestone College sits in third place with 15 points after claiming the men's soccer championship.    

In the overall tally, Belmont Abbey is just slightly ahead of current three-time Hawn Cup winner Limestone.  Belmont Abbey has so far totaled 40.5 points and a 0.779 rating, with Limestone only half a point behind, tallying 40 points and a 0.769 rating.  The Crusaders received two bonus points during the fall, with one each coming from its women's cross country and women's volleyball runner-up performances.  Limestone scored four bonus points, two each tallied from their men's and women's soccer championships.  Mount Olive and North Greenville follow in a tie for third place, currently tallying 34.5 points and a 0.663 overall rating, while Lees-McRae is right behind in fifth with 31 points and a 0.596 rating.  Rounding out the schools in order of rating are: Barton (0.567), Southern Wesleyan (0.529), King (0.356), Converse (0.258), and Erskine (0.250).


Link to the FULL 2017-18 Current Joby Hawn Cup Standings:


Link to the PAST Joby Hawn Cup Winners & Standings:


Conference Carolinas Overall Joby Hawn Cup Winners

2016-17: Limestone College
2015-16: Limestone College
2014-15: Limestone College
2013-14: University of Mount Olive
2012-13: Limestone College
2011-12: Mount Olive College
2010-11: Queens University of Charlotte
2009-10: Anderson University
2008-09: Anderson University
2007-08: Anderson University

Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference Joby Hawn Cup Winners

2006-07: Anderson University
2005-06: Pfeiffer University
2004-05: Barton College
2003-04: Barton College
2002-03: Barton College
2001-02: Lees-McRae College
2000-01: Queens College
1999-00: Belmont Abbey College
1998-99: Belmont Abbey College
1997-98: Queens College
1995-96: High Point University

Pre-CVAC Joby Hawn Cup Winners

1994-95: Pfeiffer
1993-94: High Point
1992-93: St. Andrews
1991-92: Pembroke
1990-91: Pfeiffer
1989-90: High Point
1988-89: Pembroke
1987-88: Elon
1986-87: Elon
1985-86: High Point
1984-85: High Point
1983-84: Pembroke
1982-83: Guilford
1981-82: Elon
1980-81: Elon
1979-80: High Point, Elon
1978-79: High Point
1977-78: High Point
1976-77: High Point
1975-76: High Point


Conference Carolinas Individual Men’s & Women’s Joby Hawn Cup Winners (started in 2010-11)

2016-17: Women: Limestone                                  Men: Limestone
2015-16: Women: Limestone                                  Men: Mount Olive
2014-15: Women: Limestone                                  Men: Mount Olive          
2013-14: Women: Mount Olive & Limestone (tie)      Men: Mount Olive
2012-13: Women: Queens                                      Men: Limestone
2011-12: Women: Mount Olive                                Men: Mount Olive            
2010-11: Women: Queens                                      Men: Queens


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.