Limestone College Maintains Lead in Hawn Cup Standings Following Winter Championships

HIGH POINT, N.C. – After the conclusion of winter championships, Limestone College continues to be the front-runner in the Conference Carolinas Joby Hawn Cup race.

The Hawn Cup is awarded to the league member that shows the highest rating of excellence in conference-sponsored sports. The Hawn Cup is tallied after the fall, winter and spring seasons and then awarded each year in honor of former Commissioner H.C. "Joby" Hawn for his many years of service to the league.

Conference Carolinas will name an overall Hawn Cup winner, as well as individual winners for men's and women's sports. Hawn Cup points are awarded in each sport based on the order of regular season finish, with bonus points going to the tournament champion (2 bonus points) and runner-up finisher (1 bonus point) in each sport.

Overall, Limestone has totaled 71 of a possible 90 points for a 0.789 Hawn Cup rating. Making an improvement from third to second was University of Mount Olive, who checks in with 69 points and a 0.767 rating. Making a big jump into third was Barton College with 57.5 points and a 0.639 rating. Rounding out the rest of the schools in order of rating is: Belmont Abbey College (0.633), North Greenville University (0.589), Lees-McRae College (0.572), Southern Wesleyan University (0.478), King University (0.461), Converse College (0.283) and Erskine College (0.269).

In the women’s cup, Limestone has taken over the top spot after earning 43 of a possible 53 points and 0.811 rating. Belmont Abbey is now in the second spot, having collected 41 points for a 0.774 rating. Barton sits in third, with 39 points and a 0.736 rating. 

In the men's cup, Mount Olive has taken over the top spot with 33.5 of a possible 37 points and a 0.905 rating.  Lees-McRae, who has 31 points and a 0.838 rating, moved down into second.  Limestone maintained their third-place spot, earning 28 points and a 0.757 rating.  


Link to the FULL 2017-18 Current Joby Hawn Cup Standings:



Link to the PAST Joby Hawn Cup Winners & Standings:


Conference Carolinas Overall Joby Hawn Cup Winners

2016-17: Limestone College
2015-16: Limestone College
2014-15: Limestone College
2013-14: University of Mount Olive
2012-13: Limestone College
2011-12: Mount Olive College
2010-11: Queens University of Charlotte
2009-10: Anderson University
2008-09: Anderson University
2007-08: Anderson University

Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference Joby Hawn Cup Winners

2006-07: Anderson University
2005-06: Pfeiffer University
2004-05: Barton College
2003-04: Barton College
2002-03: Barton College
2001-02: Lees-McRae College
2000-01: Queens College
1999-00: Belmont Abbey College
1998-99: Belmont Abbey College
1997-98: Queens College
1995-96: High Point University


Pre-CVAC Joby Hawn Cup Winners

1994-95: Pfeiffer
1993-94: High Point
1992-93: St. Andrews
1991-92: Pembroke
1990-91: Pfeiffer
1989-90: High Point
1988-89: Pembroke
1987-88: Elon
1986-87: Elon
1985-86: High Point
1984-85: High Point
1983-84: Pembroke
1982-83: Guilford
1981-82: Elon
1980-81: Elon
1979-80: High Point, Elon
1978-79: High Point
1977-78: High Point
1976-77: High Point
1975-76: High Point


Conference Carolinas Individual Men’s & Women’s Joby Hawn Cup Winners (started in 2010-11)

2016-17: Women: Limestone                                  Men: Limestone
2015-16: Women: Limestone                                  Men: Mount Olive
2014-15: Women: Limestone                                  Men: Mount Olive          
2013-14: Women: Mount Olive & Limestone (tie)      Men: Mount Olive
2012-13: Women: Queens                                      Men: Limestone
2011-12: Women: Mount Olive                                Men: Mount Olive            
2010-11: Women: Queens                                      Men: Queens


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.