Seven Conference Carolinas Teams and 35 Student-Athletes Earn 2018 ITA Academic Awards

TEMPE, ARIZ. - Conference Carolinas placed seven teams and 35 student-athletes on the 2018 ITA All-Academic Teams and Scholar Athletes list, respectively, it was announced Tuesday (July 24) by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

To be named an ITA All-Academic Team a team must have a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.0 scale. In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Leading the way was Barton College and Emmanuel College with both their men and women's teams being named All-Academic Teams. Eight Bulldogs earned Scholar-Athlete honors, while the Lions landed seven to the list.

Belmont Abbey College's women would be named All-Academic Team honorees with six Crusaders earning Scholar-Athlete distinction, while the men grabbed five Scholar-Athlete nods. The Converse College women would also earn All-Academic Team honors, with five players being named Scholar-Athletes. Erskine College also earned All-Academic Team accolades with four Scholar-Athlete recipients.

Full ITA Academic Awards Release

Full DII Men's Release

Full DII Women's Release


2018 All-Academic Teams & Scholar Athletes - Division II Men
*denotes All-Academic Team

Barton College*
Rory Gaydon
Hugh Ryder
Alessandro Gerbino
Martijn Eleveld

Belmont Abbey College
George Barfoot
James Delaney
Reinaldo Golindano
Ryan James
Tomas Pardo

Emmanuel College*
Tom Jarry
Enrique Alcacer


2018 All-Academic Teams & Scholar Athletes - Division II Women
*denotes All-Academic Team

Barton College*
Daria Avram
Vanessa Sanoja
Marissa Stevenson
Ada Vargas

Belmont Abbey College*
Hannah Davis
Erica Dorn
Emily Heim
Teagan McNamara
Alex Weber
Morgan Zahnd

Converse College*
Elisabeth Schlesener
Shi Qing Steffi Kong
Kaitlin Knight
Abby Roth
Carlie Peeler

Emmanuel College*
Maria Raich
Victoria Silva
Katharina Kiderlen
Chloe O'Connor
Abi Muesse

Erskine College*
Larissa Brutschin
Marie Berghaus
Rachel Berkey
Eileen Rickert


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 schools from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.

About ITA

The ITA is the governing body of college tennis, overseeing men's and women's varsity tennis at all levels - NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College.