Emmanuel College Gains Full NCAA Division II Membership

FRANKLIN SPRINGS, GA.Emmanuel College has been accepted as a full member of NCAA Division II, as determined by the NCAA Division II Membership Committee and Management Council.

“We are delighted to share this news,” said Dr. Ron White, president of Emmanuel. “This concludes a very long and tedious process, but our athletic staff and coaches have performed admirably throughout. We are so happy to take our place in the NCAA.”

For the past two years, Emmanuel has competed as a provisional member of Conference Carolinas. Full membership means the College is now eligible to compete in all conference, regional and national postseason play.

“Conference Carolinas’ members are thrilled to have Emmanuel College as a NCAA Division II and Conference Carolinas member,” said Conference Carolinas Commissioner, Dr. Alan Patterson. “Emmanuel has played Conference Carolinas regular season schedules for four years and is prepared to compete and succeed immediately. This is a perfect match of college and conference.”

Since beginning the membership process, Emmanuel has had over 120 All-Americans and over 125 Academic All-Americans/Scholar Athletes in their respective governing bodies while awaiting full NCAA DII membership. The Lions also led all Conference Carolinas members with 334 student-athletes represented on the Conference’s Fall 2017 Presidential Honor Roll.

“Our athletic staff and coaches have worked extremely hard over the past few years to develop their programs into competitive NCAA DII teams,” said Emmanuel Athletic Director, Nate Moorman. “We’re excited about the future of Emmanuel Athletics and anxiously awaiting the opportunity to compete in postseason championships."

Story courtesy of Emmanuel College with segments from Conference Carolinas

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 schools from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.

About NCAA Division II
Founded in 1906, the NCAA conducts 90 championships in 24 sports across Divisions I, II and III.

The NCAA Division II is a collection of more than 300 colleges and universities that provide thousands of student-athletes the opportunity to compete at a high level of scholarship athletics while exceling in the classroom and fully engaging in the broader campus experience. This balance, in which student-athletes are recognized for their academic success, athletics contributions, and campus and community involvement, is at the heart of the Division II philosophy.

The Division II approach provides growth opportunities through academic achievement, learning in high-level athletics competition and a focus on service to the community. The balance and integration of these different areas of learning provide Division II student-athletes with a path to graduation while cultivating a variety of skills and knowledge for life after college.