2017 Conference Carolinas Baseball All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

HIGH POINT, N.C.Belmont Abbey College's Nick Beinlich has been named the 2017 Conference Carolinas Player of the Year, while University of Mount Olive's Austin Hutchison garnered Pitcher of the Year. King University's Bubba Ruiz earned the Conference's Freshman of the Year and Mount Olive mentor Carl Lancaster won the Coach of the Year, the Conference announced today.

Beinlich, a junior from Easton, Pa., hit .377 with 19 home runs and 46 RBI. He would score a conference-best 59 runs to go with 27 stolen bases while also slugging .783.

Hutchison, a senior from Dandridge, Tenn., finished the regular season leading the nation in wins (11) while ranking fourth in ERA (1.12). The righty has also racked up 86 strikeouts on the year, giving him a 9.60 strikeouts per nine innings average.

Ruiz, a freshman catcher from Norfolk, Va., earned Freshman of the Year honors after appearing in 30 contests for the Tornado. In that time, he posted a .310 batting average with 19 RBI and two homer runs. 

Lancaster was named Coach of the Year after the Trojans secured their 15th regular season championship following a 42-7 overall and 25-2 Conference Carolinas record this season. The honor is Lancaster’s 12th of his career.


All-Conference Carolinas First Team

1B - Drew Ellis, Mount Olive

2B - Bennette Hill, North Greenville

SS - Ricky Surum, Mount Olive

3B - Chase Allen, Limestone

C - Andrew Webster, Barton

DH - Zach Mozingo, Mount Olive

OF - Nick Beinlich, Belmont Abbey

OF - Clark Scolamiero, North Greenville

OF - Garrett Lowery, Limestone

OF - David Mayo, Mount Olive

SP - Austin Hutchison, Mount Olive

SP - Bruce Zimmerman, Mount Olive

SP - Tucker Burgess, North Greenville

SP - Trent Fennell, Barton

RP - Zach Mozingo, Mount Olive

UTL - Calvin Hawke, BArton


All-Conference Carolinas Second Team

1B - Nathaniel Maggio, North Greenville

2B - John Elwood, Pfeiffer

SS - Zach Piazza, Limestone

3B - Zach Scudder, Pfeiffer

C - Bubba Ruiz, King

DH - Josh Black, North Greenville

OF - Connor Grant, North Greenville

OF - Jordan Eckard, Pfeiffer

OF - Luke Cureton, Belmont Abbey

OF - Troy Malowski, Barton

SP - Blake Hamilton, North Greenville

SP - Cameron Busby, Belmont Abbey

SP - Alex Calvert, Erskine

SP - Canaan Cropper, North Greenville

RP - Noah Hinzman, Erskine

UTL - Colin Rosenbaum, Belmont Abbey


Player of the Year

Nick Beinlich, Belmont Abbey

Pitcher of the Year

Austin Hutchison, Mount Olive

Freshman of the Year

Bubba Ruiz, King

Coach of the Year

Carl Lancaster, Mount Olive


Regular Season Baseball Champion

University of Mount Olive


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA DII membership process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.