Mount Olive Sweeps Trophy Case at 2017 Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Championship

CONCORD, N.C. – The University of Mount Olive men won the 2017 Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Championship at Frank Liske Park in Concord, N.C. on Friday (Oct. 20) afternoon. Mount Olive's Jonathan Dahlke took the individual title in the men's 8K race to earn Conference Carolinas Runner of the Year honors.

Mount Olive registered a score of 15, its second perfect score in three years, placing the top six runners in the race and eight of the top 10. Lees-McRae College would place second with a team score of 71, while North Greenville University placed third with a score of 77.

King University took fourth with a score of 111, while Barton College narrowly beat Belmont Abbey College for fifth place with 154 points to 158, respectively. Rounding out the results were Limestone College in seventh with 165 points and Southern Wesleyan University in eighth with 229 points.

Individually, Dahlke of Mount Olive came in first after running the race in 26:14.5 to capture Conference Carolinas Runner of the Year honors, while teammate Jacob Gonzalez finished eighth overall with a time of 26:32.2 to claim Freshman of the Year recognition.

Mount Olive head coach, Matt van Lierop, was named Conference Carolinas Coach of the Year after leading the No. 6 nationally ranked Trojans to their sixth straight conference championship.

Full Conference Carolinas MXC Championship Results

The top 15 finishers were named All-Conference selections:

2017 Conference Carolinas Men's All-Conference Teams

All-Conference First Team
Jonathan Dahlke, Mount Olive
Jereamy Hall, Mount Olive
Adam Craig, Mount Olive
Tai Smith, Mount Olive
Alexandre Durand, Mount Olive

All-Conference Second Team
Daniel Francken, Mount Olive
Joel Lagat, Barton
Jacob Gonzalez, Mount Olive
Ben Sessions, North Greenville
Colin Fisher, Mount Olive

All-Conference Third Team
Austin Thompson, Lees-McRae
Christopher Perez, Mount Olive
Altan Cornu, Mount Olive
Nolan Capps, Lees-McRae
Brooks Hovis, North Greenville


Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Champion: 
University of Mount Olive

Runner of the Year:
Jonathan Dahlke, Mount Olive

Freshman of the Year:
Jacob Gonzalez, Mount Olive

Coach of the Year:
Matt van Lierop, Mount Olive


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.