Nine Conference Carolinas Women's Soccer Players Land on United Soccer Coaches All-Southeast Region Team


KANSAS CITY, MO. - Nine Conference Carolinas women's soccer players were named to the 2017 Division II United Soccer Coaches Association All-Southeast Region team, the association announced today.

Of the nine players honored, three were named to the first team, one to the second team and five to the third team.

Garnering first team honors were Rachel Coutinho of Belmont Abbey CollegeCarolina Lucci of Chowan University and Holly Rawcliffe of Limestone College 

Limestone's Millie Shaw was the lone second team representative.

Third team selections were made up of Belmont Abbey's Nicole Ferren and Morgan Patton and Limestone's Lea HippaufAlex Mathis and Veronica Smeltzer.

Below are the Conference Carolinas selections.

Full United Coaches All-Region Teams

2017 NCAA DII United Coaches All-Southeast Region Team

First Team
F - Carolina Lucci, Chowan
MF - Holly Rawcliffe, Limestone
D - Rachel Coutinho, Belmont Abbey
Second Team
F - Millie Shaw, Limestone

Third Team
F - Alex Mathis, Limestone
F - Morgan Patton, Belmont Abbey
MF - Nicole Ferren, Belmont Abbey
D - Lea Hippauf, Limestone
GK - Veronica Smeltzer, Limestone


Conference Carolinas is an NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.