No. 1 Seed Barton Wins 2017 Conference Carolinas Women's Volleyball Championship

WILSON, N.C. – The Barton College Bulldogs knocked off Belmont Abbey College to win the 2017 Conference Carolinas Women's Volleyball Championship on Sunday (Nov. 12) afternoon. Barton moves to 23-7 overall, while the Crusaders drop to 17-12 on the year.

The win earned the Bulldogs the season sweep of the regular season (North Division) and tournament championships, which is the second consecutive year Barton has accomplished the feat. This year's championship would come in a straight-set victory and books the Bulldogs their second straight trip to the NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Championship.


2017 All-Championship Team

Courtney Williamson - North Greenville University
Paige O'Connor - Southern Wesleyan University
Cassidy Bonito - Belmont Abbey College
Mackenzie Chrapliwy - Belmont Abbey College
Angelica Acevedo - Barton College
Courtney Wiseman - Barton College 

2017 Most Outstanding Player

Riley Bane - Barton College

2017 Conference Carolinas Women's Volleyball Championship Champion

Barton College


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.