2017 Conference Carolinas Women's Volleyball All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

HIGH POINT, N.C.Southern University outside hitter Paige O'Connor was tabbed the 2017 Conference Carolinas Women's Volleyball Player of the Year, while Belmont Abbey College's Sarah Kenney was named the Conference's Defensive Player of the Year. Barton College's Kaytlin Elkins earned Freshman of the Year honors. In addition, Barton's Jeff Lennox was named the Coach of the Year, the Conference announced today.

O’Connor, a senior from Ada, Mich., posted a Conference-leading 417 kills and 477.5 points for the Warriors this year on her way to Player of the Year honors. She also put away 3.90 kills per set and hit .251, which ranked second and seventh in the league, respectively. O'Connors 31 service aces were good enough for eighth in Conference Carolinas. She also collected 158 digs and 43 blocks, with her 16 solo blocks ranking seventh in the conference.

Kenney, a junior from Mebane, N.C., was named Conference Carolinas Defensive Player of the Year after finishing third in the Conference in digs (449) and sixth in digs per set (4.4). Her play helped lead Belmont Abbey to a second-place finish in the North Division.

An outside hitter from Hope Mills, N.C., Elkins notched 394 kills for a 4.23 kills per set average. Her kills per set average led all of Conference Carolinas while her total kills finished second only to Player of the Year Paige O'Connor. Elkins also collected 191 digs and 33 blocks in her freshman campaign.

Lennox repeats as Coach of the Year, as he led the Bulldogs to their second straight Conference Carolinas regular season championship. Barton finished the regular season 20-7 overall and 13-1 in league play.

Barton led the way with three first team all-conference selections, as Elkins was joined by Angelica Acevedo and Courtney Wiseman. In addition to O'Connor and Kenney, Limestone College's Rycki Ebert and North Greenville University's Kenzie Pierce rounded out the first team.


Women's All-Conference First Team

Paige O'Connor, Southern Wesleyan

Kaytlin Elkins, Barton

Rycki Ebert, Limestone

Kenzie Pierce, North Greenville

Courtney Wiseman, Barton

Sarah Kenney, Belmont Abbey

Angelica Acevedo, Barton


Women's All-Conference Second Team

Britni Johnson, Mount Olive

Coreen Norwood, Belmont Abbey

Kendall Vallancourt, Southern Wesleyan

Mackenzie Chrapliwy, Belmont Abbey

Becca Huddleston, King

Katie Anderson, Southern Wesleyan

Cassidy Bonito, Belmont Abbey


Women's All-Conference Third Team

Victoria Norwood, Limestone

Miranda Miller, Barton

Cathy Scaniffe, King

Samantha Hebb, North Greenville

Allie Cullens, Barton

Amy Serowski, King

Sara Miller, North Greenville


Player of the Year

Paige O'Connor, Southern Wesleyan

Defensive Player of the Year

Sarah Kenney, Belmont Abbey

Freshman of the Year

Kaytlin Elkins, Barton

Coach of the Year

Jeff Lennox, Barton

Women's Volleyball Regular Season Division Champions

North Greenville University - South Division

Barton College - North Division


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA DII membership process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.