Conference Carolinas Announces Murphy Osborne Award Finalist

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas has selected nine student-athletes as finalists for the Murphy Osborne Award. Finalists are nominated by their institutions based on academic and athletic excellence, leadership, service, and community involvement during the year. The award winner is the conference student-athlete determined to have the most outstanding accomplishments of the year. The finalists for this outstanding senior award are as follows: Ricky Jernigan of Barton College, Megan Nanney of Belmont Abbey College, Sarah McDonald of Erskine College, Elizabeth Swallow of King University, Dillon Quinn of Lees-McRae College, Maurissa Lester of Limestone College, Michael Munoz of the University of Mount Olive, Foley George of North Greenville University, and Fabio Diniz of Pfeiffer University.


To be eligible for the award, nominees must be a senior student-athlete with a minimum grade point average of 3.25. The candidate must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student for at least two years at the member school, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport. The recipient is selected by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives. The Murphy Osborne award winner, selected from these finalists, will be announced April 15, 2016.

2015-2016 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Finalists

Ricky Jernigan, Barton College, Baseball

Megan Nanney, Belmont Abbey College, Women's Soccer

Sarah McDonald, Erskine College, Women's Tennis

Elizabeth Swallow, King University, Women's Golf

Dillon Quinn, Lees-McRae College, Men's Lacrosse

Maurissa Lester, Limestone College, Women's Basketball

Michael Munoz, University of Mount Olive, Men's Cross Country and Track and Field

Foley George, North Greenville University, Baseball

Fabio Diniz, Pfeiffer University, Men's Volleyball

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College and Southern Wesleyan University are currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.