Conference Carolinas Presents End of the Year Awards

HIGH POINT, N.C. – At the conclusion of each academic year, Conference Carolinas members meet together at a host institution, for an opportunity to discuss the year and plan for upcoming years. The annual event was hosted this year at the Barton College campus in Wilson, NC, on Monday, May 22rd through Tuesday, May 23th. This year, the end of the year awards were combined with the Milestone Banquet. The following awards were announced on Monday: the Allan Sharp Award, the Messick Sportsmanship Awards, and the Heritage Award.

Converse College is the recipient of the Allan Sharp Award, with a 78% Academic Success Rate. This award was named in honor of the late Allan Sharp who served for over twenty years as the Atlantic Christian College and Barton College Faculty Athletic Representative. The Allan Sharp award is presented annually to the Conference Carolinas member institution having the highest Academic Success Rate among student-athletes, gathered by the NCAA.

The winner of the overall Messick Award, at the completion of the 2016-2017 season, is Belmont Abbey CollegeSouthern Wesleyan Univeristy claimed the overall men's Messick honors, while Belmont Abbey also took home the overall women's Messick award. The winner of the Messick Award, as well as the winner of each sports individual sportsmanship award, is determined at the close of each playing season. Conference Coaches and student-athletes work together to vote on the opposing conference members they believe to have best demonstrated the qualities of sportsmanship. Conference Carolinas continues to pride itself on creating a positive game environment through sportsmanship to ensure a positive experience for student-athletes and fans alike.

Administrators are continuously recognized throughout the conference for their time and dedication to athletics. This year the conference presented the Heritage Award, to an administrator who dedicated meritorious service to the conference. President Walt Griffin, from Limestone College, was presented the award. Dr. Griffin served as Limestone's President for 25 years and has been the driving force behind the Saints' athletics program developing into one of the finest in Conference Carolinas and in Division II of the NCAA.

Recognizing conference members is important as each institution continues to embody and instill the mission of the conference. Conference Carolinas Conference Carolinas is built upon the idea of offering challenging NCAA competition in an environment that fosters both the academic and athletic achievements of its student-athletes, committed to building tomorrow's leaders. 


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.