Conference Carolinas Releases Murphy Osborne Award Finalists

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Conference Carolinas has selected 11 student-athletes as finalists for the Murphy Osborne Award. Finalists are nominated by their institutions based on academic, athletic, leadership, service and community involvement excellence during the year. The award winner is given to the conference student-athlete determined to have the most outstanding accomplishments of the year. The finalists for the highest academic award presented by the conference are as follows:  Calvin Hawke of Barton College, Sean Trompeter of Belmont Abbey College, Marley Felthousen of Converse College, Michael Byrd of Erskine College, Tanner Cook of King University, Anthony ‘Rudy’ Klass of Lees-McRae College, Guilherme Machado of Limestone College, Alexis McNeil of the University of Mount Olive, Amanda Ward of North Greenville University, Dillon Malloy of Pfeiffer University, and Sara Sweatt of Southern Wesleyan University.


To be eligible for the award, nominees must be a senior student-athlete with a minimum grade point average of 3.25. The candidate must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student for at least two years at the member school, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport. The recipient is selected by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives. The Murphy Osborne award winner, selected from these finalists, will be announced April 14, 2017.



2016-2017 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Finalist

Calvin Hawke of Barton College Baseball

Sean Trompeter of Belmont Abbey College Men’s Soccer

Marley Felthousen of Converse College Women’s Golf

Michael Byrd of Erskine College Men’s Basketball

Tanner Cook of King University Men’s Cross Country & Track

Anthony ‘Rudy’ Klass of Lees-McRae College Men’s Volleyball

Guilherme Machado of Limestone College Men’s Soccer

Alexis McNeil of the University of Mount Olive Women’s Cross Country & Track

Amanda Ward of North Greenville University Women’s Cross Country & Track

Dillon Malloy of Pfeiffer University Men’s Lacrosse

Sara Sweatt of Southern Wesleyan University Softball

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.