Barton's Calvin Hawke Named 2016-2017 Murphy Osborne Award Recipient

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Calvin Hawke of Barton College has been recognized as the 2016-2017 recipient of the Murphy Osborne Award, Conference Carolinas announced today. A member of the men’s baseball team at Barton, Hawke was selected from a field of elite nominees based on his academic, athletic, and service accomplishments for Conference Carolinas’ most outstanding award. 

Hawke currently holds an overall 3.97 GPA while double majoring in Business and Mathematics. He was awarded the 2016 Conference Carolinas Baseball Scholar Athlete of the Year while also being on the leagues All-Academic team in 2015 & 2016. Hawke was the Chief Marshal at the President’s Inauguration, Graduation, and Convocation as well as a member of Sigma Beta Delta (Business Honors Society), Alpha Chi (Academic Honors Society), and a 4 year Presidential Honor Roll member. Hawke was also selected earlier this year to represent Conference Carolinas as one of two athletes able to attend the NCAA Student-Athlete Leadership Forum and also participating in the NCAA’s 360 Leadership Academy.

"To complete a double-major in Mathematics and Business with a 3.97 GPA is impressive,” said Barton Faculty Athletic Representative Charles Lanier. “To achieve that while competing in the time-intensive sport of baseball is amazing. Additionally, Calvin Hawke doesn't just complete or compete, he excels as both a student and an athlete."

Currently leading all Conference Carolinas players in batting average, Hawke is a 4 year starting shortstop for the Bulldogs. In 2016 he was a Second Team All-Conference member tallying 100 runs and 100 RBI. Following this current season, he is on-track to be in the All-Time Top Ten Bulldog Hit Club with over 200 hits in his career.

Barton College’s Director of Athletics Todd Wilkinson said, "Calvin Hawke’s selection as the Murphy Osborne Award winner for 2017 is a proud moment for Barton athletics.  Calvin truly represents athletic and academic excellence and Barton College has been very fortunate to have him on our campus. He shows strong leadership potential that will mesh nicely with his dedication towards excellence. Calvin will go down as one of the top players and people in Barton history.”

In the community Hawke is also involved with ‘Diversified Opportunities’ which is an organization for those with special needs.  He has been a volunteer at First Pentecostal Church and has worked an internship with Vardy HPC.

Susan Bane who is a Professor in the Department of Allied Health and Sports Studies at Barton added, “Calvin is one of my all-time favorites! I have worked with academically gifted students for years and Calvin is one of the brightest. There are certain people you meet in life that you instantly like. Calvin is one of them and I am telling you the truth when I tell you he is one of the most genuine and kind people I have ever encountered. He has a creative mind and is simply a great human being.

Conference Carolinas institutions are able to nominate one student athlete, that qualifies and best represents their school and the Conference. The finalists for the highest academic award presented by the conference these year were:  Calvin Hawke of Barton College, Sean Trompeter of Belmont Abbey College, Marley Felthousen of Converse College, Michael Byrd of Erskine College, Tanner Cook of King University, Anthony ‘Rudy’ Klass of Lees-McRae College, Guilherme Machado of Limestone College, Alexis McNeil of the University of Mount Olive, Amanda Ward of North Greenville University, Dillon Malloy of Pfeiffer University, and Sara Sweatt of Southern Wesleyan University. 

To be eligible for the Murphy Osborne Award, a student must be a senior student-athlete with a minimum grade point average of 3.25. The student must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student for at least two years at the member school, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport. The recipient is selected by the Faculty Athletics Representatives of Conference Carolinas institutions and represents the best of the best for the league. 


Previous Murphy Osborne Recipients


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 12 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.