Conference Carolinas Releases 2017-18 Murphy Osborne Award Finalists

HIGH POINT, N.C. - Nine student-athletes from Conference Carolinas have been selected as finalists for the 2017-18 Murphy Osborne Scholar-Athlete Award, the highest academic award presented by the conference. Finalists are nominated by their institutions based on academic, athletic, leadership, service, and community involvement excellence during the year, and the award is bestowed upon the student-athlete determined to have the most outstanding accomplishments.

The finalists are as follows:  Justin Alford of Barton College, Thomas Yoder of Belmont Abbey College, Elizabeth Schlesener of Converse College, Eduordo Gullino of Erskine College, Nicola Robertson of King University, Kylie Moyer of Limestone College, Robert Poole of University of Mount Olive, Madelynn Schober of North Greenville University, and Paige O'Connor of Southern Wesleyan University.

To be eligible for the award, nominees must be a senior student-athlete with a minimum grade point average of 3.25. The candidate must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student at the member school for at least two years, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport. The 2017-18 Murphy Osborne Scholar-Athlete Award winner, selected from these finalists by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives, will be announced April 12, 2018.

2017-18 Conference Carolinas Murphy Osborne Finalists

Justin Alford, Barton College Men's Track & Field

(Robert) Thomas Yoder, Belmont Abbey College Baseball

Elizabeth "Alex" Schlesener, Converse College Women's Tennis

Edoardo "Eddy" Gullino, Erskine College Men's Soccer 

Nicola Robertson, King University Women's Golf

Kylie Moyer, Limestone College Women's Volleyball

Robert Poole, University of Mount Olive Men's Volleyball

Madelynn "Maddie" Schober, North Greenville University Women's Soccer

Paige O'Connor, Southern Wesleyan University Women's Volleyball

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA Membership Process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.