Commissioner Dr. Alan Patterson to Retire

HIGH POINT, N.C. – After 32 years at the helm of Conference Carolinas Dr. Alan Patterson will retire June 1, 2019.

“I have been privileged and blessed to serve with and for thousands of students, coaches and administrators and hope a positive effect on their play, understanding and well-being is the result,” said Dr. Patterson.

During Dr. Patterson’s tenure the conference has thrived, with the number of conference-sponsored championships increasing from 14 to 23. Conference members have advanced to win national championships in basketball, baseball, lacrosse, and soccer. League names have included Carolinas Conference, Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference and Conference Carolinas.  A total of twenty six colleges have been conference members.  NCAA Division II status was achieved.

Under Dr. Patterson’s leadership, classroom success and sportsmanship have been valued equally with competitive success. Conference Carolinas is known nationally for emphasis on respect, appreciation of opponents and preparation for the future challenges, all during competition at the highest levels of NCAA Division II.

A native of upstate New York, Patterson was a Division III student-athlete at St. Lawrence University, received his doctorate from The University of Tennessee, and has resided in North Carolina since 1972. Patterson and his wife Judy are the parents of four children and eight grandchildren.

“I am pleased to leave at a time when the membership is stable, conference administrators have a common vision expressed in the tagline – Champions in Body, Mind & Soul – and the conference office staff is superior. I retire confident in the conference’s future and my personal future.”

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.