Mount Olive's Power Named Conference Carolinas Nominee for 2018 NCAA Woman of the Year

 – NCAA conferences and a selection committee have nominated 154 women from a program-record 581 school nominees for the 2018 Woman of the Year Award.

These 154 women represent 18 different sports spanning all three NCAA divisions. Of those recognized, 58 nominees competed in Division I, 34 in Division II, and 62 in Division III. 

Conference Carolinas' Woman of the Year nominee is University of Mount Olive's Kristin Power. A native of Clayton, N.C., Power is the 11th Trojan in the last 13 years to be chosen as Conference Carolinas' nominee for the award. 

As a Trojan student-athlete, Power played in 59 career matches for the women's soccer team as a defender, scoring one goal and collecting three assists. During her softball career, she batted .306 with 23 doubles, three triples, four home runs, 47 RBI, and 169 hits for the Trojans and was a captain during her senior year. She was also named to the All-Conference Carolinas first team. She was also a five-time Conference Carolinas Presidential Honor Roll honoree and a four-time member of the Conference Carolinas Academic All-Conference Team.

Power graduated in May of 2018 with Bachelors of Science degree in biology.

The Top 30 honorees, comprising 10 women from each division, will be named by the Woman of the Year selection committee in September. From there, the selection committee will narrow the pool to nine finalists — with three from each division — in early October. One of those finalists will then be named the 2018 Woman of the Year by the NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics.

The Top 30 honorees will be celebrated and the 2018 NCAA Woman of the Year will be named at the annual banquet Oct. 28 in Indianapolis.

The NCAA Woman of the Year program has recognized graduating female student-athletes for excellence in academics, athletics, community service and leadership since its inception in 1991.

Full NCAA Woman of the Year Release

Full University of Mount Olive Release

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.