11 Conference Carolinas Players Named to D2CCA All-Region Baseball Team; NGU's Burgess and Jones Earn Major Awards

MILLEDGEVILLE, GA. - Conference Carolinas was represented by 11 baseball players on the 2019 Division II Conference Commissioner's Association (D2CCA) All-Southeast Region team, the Association announced Wednesday (May 15). In addition to the all-region selections, North Greenville University's Tucker Burgess and Utah Jones earned Pitcher of the Year and Player of the Year, respectively.

North Greenville placed a league-high seven players on the team. University of Mount Olive landed two players on the team, while Chowan University and Limestone College each earned on honoree.

NGU would post four first team selections in Burgess, Jones, John Michael Faile and Adam Sasser. Chowan's Marquise Lanier and Mount Olive's Joe Mason rounded out the Conference Carolinas first team selections.

On the second team, North Greenville posted Jeffrey Chandler, Jr., Michael Giacone and Jared Williams, while Limestone's Chase Allen and Mount Olive's JT Stone closed out the honorees.

All first team D2CCA NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region selections are now eligible for All-America consideration. See the full D2CCA Release here

2019 NCAA D2CCA All-Southeast Region Team

First Team
C - John Michael Faile, North Greenville
1B - Adam Sasser, North Greenville
SS - Utah Jones, North Greenville
OF - Marquise Lanier, Chowan
UT non P - Joe Mason, Mount Olive
SP - Tucker Burgess, North Greenville

Second Team
3B - Chase Allen, Limestone
OF - Jeffrey Chandler, Jr., North Greenville
DH - JT Stone, Mount Olive
UT non P - Jared Williams, North Greenville
SP - Michael Giacone, North Greenville


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University.