2018 Conference Carolinas Softball All-Conference and Major Awards Announced

HIGH POINT, N.C.King University's Hannah Riddle has been named the 2018 Conference Carolinas Player of the Year, while Limestone College's Courtney Smith earned the Conference Carolinas Pitcher of the Year, respectively. Ashley Parnell of Limestone nabbed Freshman of the Year honors, while Erskine College's Alleen Hawkins collected the Coach of the Year, the Conference announced today.

Riddle, a senior from Greeneville, Tenn., had a spectacular season en route to earning Conference Carolinas Player of the Year honors. She leads the league in hits (60), runs (57), total bases (113), home runs (12) and slugging percentage at .711. Riddle's three triples ranks fourth in the conference, while her .377 batting average and 11 doubles both rank sixth. Earlier this season she set the school record with a 22-game hitting streak and enters the conference championship on a five-game hitting streak. Riddle leads the Tornado with 18 multiple-hit games and has seven multiple-RBI games.

Smith, a senior from Blufton, S.C., currently holds the fifth lowest ERA in the country with a 0.85, while tossing her way to a 19-2 record. In league play, threw eight complete games while posting five shutouts through her own work, turning in a perfect 10-0 clip in conference action. Ranked nationally in multiple categories, Smith currently sits at 13th in shutouts (7), 34th in strikeouts (143) and 19th in victories (19).

Parnell, a freshman from Starr, S.C., posted a league-leading .392 batting average to earn her way to Freshman of the Year honors. A first-team all-conference honoree, Parnell led league batters in conference play as well with a .458 clip including four doubles and eight RBIs. Hitting in the lead-off spot, she only stuck-out three times while earning 12 walks in conference action. 

Hawkins earns Coach of the Year after leading the Fleet to a second-place regular season finish in Conference Carolinas.


All-Conference Carolinas First Team

1B - Kay Brokering, King

2B - Ashley Parnell, Limestone

3B - Jenna Burnett, King

SS - Melissa Neyhouse, Belmont Abbey

DP - Ashton Withers, North Greenville

UTL - Jaelin Griffin, North Greenville

C - Taylor Koon, North Greenville

C - Anna Ingram, Mount Olive

OF - Kayla Allen, Mount Olive

OF - Hannah Riddle, King

OF - Reagan Davis, Erskine

P - Courtney Smith, Limestone

P - Morgan Hendrix, Erskine

P - Amanda Coffrin, North Greenville


All-Conference Carolinas Second Team

1B - Eileen Barrera, Mount Olive

2B - Sydney Smith, Erskine

3B - Siara Shelton, Limestone

SS - Summer Hayes, King

DP - Mary Hart, Limestone

UTL - Sierra Hearp, Barton

C - Noel Cassidy, Lees-McRae

C - Macie Parker, Limestone

OF - Caitlyn Ray, Lees-McRae

OF - Grace DeBoer, North Greenville

OF - Brittany Rhinehardt, Erskine

P - Josie Weber, Limestone

P - Kara Cunningham, Lees-McRae

P - Hannah Houge, Erskine


Player of the Year

Hannah Riddle, King

Pitcher of the Year

Courtney Smith, Limestone

Freshman of the Year

Ashley Parnell, Limestone

Coach of the Year

Alleen Hawkins, Erskine


Regular Season Softball Champion

Limestone College


Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athleticconference made up of 11 teams from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, Emmanuel College, Erskine College, King University, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, University of Mount OliveNorth Greenville University, and Southern Wesleyan University. Emmanuel College is currently completing the NCAA DII membership process and will be fully competing in league championships in the near future.